Last Updated: 2012-01-18
- Guard1 Plus versions: 2.06, 2.5x, 2.60, 2.7x, 2.8x, 3.x
- Guard1 Plus SE versions: 4.12, 4.20, 4.30, 4.40
After repeated use, some buttons may become difficult to read so you need to replace the button. You should only delete a Location button after you have archived the data associated with that button. Following this procedure maintains your ability to run reports on the buttons that have been replaced.
Replacing a Location button involves these five steps:
- renaming the old button
- adding the new Location button
- associating this new Location button to a tour
- archiving the data
- deleting all Location buttons that have been replaced prior to the archive date
- Open the Facilities tab,
- Highlight the button and right-click, and click Rename.
- Enter a new button name. We recommend renaming the button by adding a "Z " or "X" in the beginning and including in the button name the date that this button was replaced.
- For example: the button named "Main Gate" becomes "X Main Gate replaced 4-22-2010"
- From Guard1 Plusopen the Facilities tab.
- You should see your new Location button listed as an "Unassociated Location".
- Select the client, facility or group where this new Location button belongs and right-click, then click Add Location.
- Select this new Location button and click Next, thn Finish.
You will probably archive at a certain interval, such as end of fiscal year or beginning of the next calendar year. Normally you would not archive every time you delete a button but perhaps only once a year. Find archive instructions for all versions of Guard1 Plus.
After you have archived your Guard1 Plus database, delete all of the location buttons that are no longer in use. For example, if you archive all of 2009, you would delete all of the Location buttons that have been deleted in 2009. These buttons are no longer in use.
To delete a Location button
- Open the Facilities tab.
- Click the button that has been replaced prior to the archive date. (The button name will begin with a "Z" or "X' if you followed our recommendations and its replacement date can be viewed in the button's name.)
- Press the Delete key or right-click and click Delete, then Yes.